Connecticut (5)

State Flag State Seal State Map
Connecticut State Flag Connecticut State Seal Connecticut State Map

The State of Connecticut was one of the original 13 states and is one of the six states that make up the New England states. Connecticut is located in the northeastern corner of the United States. Connecticut in land mass is the third smallest U.S. state, but it ranks among the most densely populated in the country due to it's close proximity to several large metropolitan areas. Connecticut is located in the southern most part of the New England Appalachian Mountains, and is made up of three distinct land regions being the Western Upland, the Central Lowland aka the Connecticut River valley, and the Eastern Upland.

Entered the Union: January 9, 1788 (5th State)

Connecticut Capital City: Hartford

Lagest Cities in Connecticut: Bridgeport, New Haven, Hartford, Stamford, Waterbury, Norwalk, Danbury, New Britain, Meriden, Bristol

Bordering States: Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island

Connecticut 2013 Population (Estimate): 3,596,080

Connecticut 2010 Population (Estimate): 3,574,097

Origin of State Name: From an Indian word (Quinnehtukqut) meaning “beside the long tidal river”

State Motto: Qui Transtulit Sustinet (He Who Transplanted Still Sustains)

Connecticut Nickname: Nutmeg State, Constitution State

Connecticut Government Resources