Kentucky (4)

State Flag State Seal State Map
Kentucky State Flag Kentucky State Seal Kentucky State Map


Entered the Union: June 1, 1792 (15th State)

Kentucky Capital City: Frankfort

Lagest Cities in Kentucky: Louisville, Lexington - Fayette, Bowling Green, Owensboro, Covington, Hopkinsville, Richmond, Florence, Georgetown, Henderson

Bordering States: Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

Kentucky 2013 Population (Estimate): 4,395,295

Kentucky 2010 Population (Estimate): 4,339,357

Origin of State Name: From an Iroquoian word “Ken-tah-ten” meaning “land of tomorrow”

State Motto: United we stand, divided we fall

Kentucky Nickname: Bluegrass State

Kentucky Government Resources