Hawaii (5)

State Flag State Seal State Map
Hawaii State Flag Hawaii State Seal Hawaii State Map

Hawaii is made up of eight main islands including Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and Hawaii. The largest of the island chain is the island of Hawaii, which is 4,035 square miles. The islands of Hawaii's population ranks 42nd in the United States currently. The topography of Hawaii is a very mountainous land that has been formed by volcanoes, for this reason there the land is constantly changing due to continued volcanic activity on the islands.

Entered the Union: August 21, 1959 (50th State)

Hawaii Capital City: Honolulu

Lagest Cities in Hawaii: Honolulu, Pearl City, Hilo, Kailua, Waipahu, Kaneohe, Mililani, Kahului, Ewa Gentry, Mililani Mauka

Bordering States: None (Islands in Pacific Ocean)

Hawaii 2013 Population (Estimate): 1,404,054

Hawaii 2010 Population (Estimate): 1,360,301

Origin of State Name: The islands may have been named by Hawaii Loa, their traditional discoverer. Or they may have been named after Hawaii or Hawaiki, the home of the Polynesians.

State Motto: Ua Mau Ke Ea O Ka Aina I Ka Pono (The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness)

Hawaii Nickname: Aloha State (1959)

Hawaii Government Resources